Academic Governance and Faculty

Mauritius Campus

Academic Governance

The Academic Senate is the ultimate academic authority of the institution with powers delegated by the ALU President. The Academic Senate has oversight of (i) the academic mission and strategy, and (ii) the standards, planning, and delivery of the educational provision of the institution.
The detailed mandate and responsibilities are included in the Terms of Reference.

The following composition is in effect for the 2020-2021 academic year:

Nhlanhla Thwala

Provost

Audrey Bracey Deegan

Head of College

Anca Prisacariu

Director of Quality Assurance

Stephen Naicken

Academic Director

Vreeti Reetoo

Quality Assurance Associate

Jeremy Ruiters

Director of Student Life

Jeremiah Essuman

Leadership Core Lead

Zoubeir Emambokus

BEL Programme Manager

Charles Kagiri

Faculty Electrical Power Systems Engineering

Allan Bartolome

Faculty Computing

Divine Kangami

Faculty Business Management

Jared Jeffery

Faculty Social Sciences

Through Academic Committees reporting to it, the Senate maintains oversight of academic standards and quality assurance, teaching, learning and assessment, curriculum development, as well as research and scholarship activities.

The following standing committees have been established by the Senate to operate during the 2020-2021 academic year:

  • Curriculum Committee is responsible for drafting and submitting for approval the Policy and Procedure for Programme Management, ensuring the implementation of the Quality Management Framework, overseeing the processes of programme design, programme validation, programme annual and periodic review as well as any programme closure;
  • Academic Integrity Committee aims to foster a culture of academic integrity at ALU by providing guidance, coordination, and leadership that results in a culture of integrity across the institution;
  • Quality Assurance Committee acts as a planning forum for the discussion and promotion of developments in academic quality assurance, whether internally driven or externally indicated, and provides strategic direction to relevant staff within the institution on institutional and national quality assurance frameworks;
  • Research Ethics Committee is responsible for promoting and maintaining the highest standards of rigour and integrity in all aspects of research; acts as a planning forum for the discussion and promotion of developments in research ethics, whether internally driven or externally indicated, and provides strategic direction to relevant staff within the university on institutional and national research frameworks;
  • Disciplinary Committee is responsible, on behalf of the Academic Senate, to address all matters pertaining to student disciplinary issues at ALU.

Academic Leadership

Nhlanhla Thwala

Provost

Nhlanhla Thwala started his career in 1986 as a high school teacher in his native Eswatini after completing a BA in History and English plus a Diploma in Education. In 1990 he completed an MA in Linguistics at Syracuse University. In 1994 he completed a PhD in formal Linguistics from the University of California in Los Angeles.
His post PhD career started in Indiana University, Bloomington where he was a Visiting Scholar and Coordinator of the African Language Program. He then spent 16 years at Wits University, Johannesburg in various capacities including serving as the founding Head of the School of Literature, Language and Media, Director of the Wits Language School, Researcher at SOAS while on Sabbatical at Wits. In 2014 he left Wits and first joined Advtech (one the largest JSE listed private education companies in South Africa) as Head of the Institute of Independent Education (IIE). He then joined Pearson South Africa as Managing Director of CTI Education Group (a higher education company acquired by Pearson in 2013). In that time he also served as the Academic Director of Pearson Institute of Higher Education. He also had Summer Teaching roles at Yale University, Boston University, and Ohio State University. In 1998 he started at Wits as Lecturer and rose to Senior Lecturer in 1999 before his appointment as Head of the School of Literature Language and Media in 2001.

Audrey Bracey Deegan

Head of College

Audrey Bracey Deegan has over 25 years of experience driving business strategy, organizational alignment and strategic change in the social, private and public sectors. She has advised global social sector leaders in global relief, community engagement, and international development as well as for-profit leaders in the oil and gas, financial services and manufacturing sectors. For much of the past two decades, Audrey has spearheaded non-profit organizations that work in the areas of international health, education and livelihoods. She has brought a deep understanding of strategic, programmatic and operational functions, honed through her leadership roles at StepByStep, McKinsey & Company, Deloitte, Textron and J.P. Morgan.
She is an honors graduate of Princeton University with a bachelor’s degree in international politics, and holds a joint J.D./Masters in Foreign Service degree from Georgetown University. Ms Deegan has served on the boards of several local, national and international non-profits, including the Washington Area Women’s Foundation, PLAN International USA, International Planned Parenthood Federation, Georgetown University School of Foreign Service’s Board of Visitors, the International Institute, and AIESEC. She has served as an adjunct professor to both the MSFS and GHD programs.

Stephen Naicken

Academic Director

Stephen Naicken is responsible for the successful delivery of its academic programmes. He also teaches on the institution’s Computing programme. Prior to joining the ALC, he was Research Fellow at Sussex University where his work on Delay-tolerant networking led to a University-spin off startup in sports technology (acquired). His research interests include digital transformation in education and innovative applications of distributed systems. He holds a Ph.D. in Informatics from Sussex University.

Faculty

Leadership Core

Chase Huff

Email: chuff@alueducation.com

Chimkwanum Okecha

Email: cokecha@alueducation.com

Eline Hessels

Email: ehessels@alueducation.com

Kelly Ng-Lun

Email: knglun@alueducation.com

Kiana Sosa

Email: ksosa@alueducation.com

Monique Richard Coombes

Email: mcoombes@alueducation.com

Nadia Horning

Email: nhorning@alueducation.com

Natalia Hartinger

Oluwatoyin Omotayo

Email: oomotayo@alueducation.com

Princes Dineo Maphothoma

Email: sal-pmaphothoma@alueducation.com

Shabnaz Oozeer

Email: soozeer@alueducation.com

Shreyasi Shreyasi

Email: shreyasi@alueducation.com

Teniola Tonade

Email: ttonade@alueducation.com

Tineyi Madungwe

Email: tmadungwe@alueducation.com

Mutsa Chinyamakobvu

Email: mchinyamakobvu@alueducation.com

Electrical Power Systems Engineering

Charles Kagiri

Email: ckagiri@alueducation.com

Dhruv Sharma

Email: dsharma@alueducation.com

Fhazhil Wamalwa

Email: fwamalwa@alueducation.com

Ismael Essackjee

Email: iessackjee@alueducation.com

Josiah Nyangaga

Email: jnyangaga@alueducation.com

Business Management

Divine Kangami

Email: dkangami@alueducation.com

Salam Al-Khateeb

Email: sal-khateeb@alueducation.com

Shameem Heetun

Email: sheetun@alueducation.com

Computing

Allan Bartolome

Email: abartolome@alueducation.com

Ruslan Masinjila

Email: rmasinjila@alueducation.com

Yovin Poorun

Email: ypoorun@alueducation.com

Social Sciences

Daisy Onyige

Email: debeniro@alueducation.com

Emmanuel Nuesiri

Email: enuesiri@alueducation.com

Jared Jeffrey

Email: jjeffery@alueducation.com

ALU Rwanda

Academic Governance

The Academic Senate is the ultimate academic authority of the institution with powers delegated by the Vice-Chancellor. The Academic Senate has oversight of (i) the academic mission and strategy, and (ii) the planning and delivery of the educational provision of the institution.
The detailed mandate and responsibilities are included in the Terms of Reference.

The following composition is in effect for the 2020-2021 academic year:

Nhlanhla ThwalaProvost
Gaidi FarajHead of College
Emmett P. TracyDean ALUSB
Anca PrisacariuDirector of Quality Assurance
Chara ItokaFaculty Global Challenges
Elyse S. IshimirweRegistrar’s Office ALUSB
Fay HodzaAcademic Director
Lucie KabatesiGovernment and External Relations
Mimi MutoniDirector of Student Life
Ruwayne KockFaculty MBA
Stanley MukasaFaculty Entrepreneurship
Theresa LisitaFaculty International Business and Trade
Tofik SaadFaculty Leadership Core
Gareth HowellsExecutive Director – MBA Programme
Nusone Euphemia PerkinsStudent Representatives Council

Through the standing committees reporting to it, the Academic Senate maintains oversight of academic standards and quality, teaching, learning and assessment, curriculum development, as well as research and scholarship activities.

The following standing committees have been established by the Senate to operate during the 2020-2021 academic year:

  • Assessment Boards (separate for the undergraduate programmes and the Business School) are responsible on behalf of the Senate for the management and supervision of the ALU’s conformity assessment activities;
  • Curriculum Committees (separate for the undergraduate programmes and the Business School) are responsible for drafting and submitting for approval the Policy and Procedure for Programme Management, ensuring the implementation of the Quality Management Framework, overseeing the processes of programme design, programme validation, programme annual and periodic review, moderation as well as any programme closure;
  • Academic Integrity Committee aims to foster a culture of academic integrity at ALU by providing guidance, coordination, and leadership that results in a culture of integrity across the institution;
  • Quality Assurance Committee acts as a planning forum for the discussion and promotion of developments in academic quality assurance, whether internally driven or externally indicated, and provides strategic direction to relevant staff within the institution on institutional and national quality assurance frameworks;
  • Research Ethics Committee is responsible for promoting and maintaining the highest standards of rigour and integrity in all aspects of research; acts as a planning forum for the discussion and promotion of developments in research ethics, whether internally driven or externally indicated, and provides strategic direction to relevant staff within the university on institutional and national research frameworks;
  • Disciplinary Committee is responsible, on behalf of the Academic Senate, to address all matters pertaining to student disciplinary issues at ALU.

Academic Leadership

Nhlanhla Thwala

Provost

Nhlanhla Thwala started his career in 1986 as a high school teacher in his native Eswatini after completing a BA in History and English plus a Diploma in Education. In 1990 he completed an MA in Linguistics at Syracuse University. In 1994 he completed a PhD in formal Linguistics from the University of California in Los Angeles.
His post PhD career started in Indiana University, Bloomington where he was a Visiting Scholar and Coordinator of the African Language Program. He then spent 16 years at Wits University, Johannesburg in various capacities including serving as the founding Head of the School of Literature, Language and Media, Director of the Wits Language School, Researcher at SOAS while on Sabbatical at Wits. In 2014 he left Wits and first joined Advtech (one the largest JSE listed private education companies in South Africa) as Head of the Institute of Independent Education (IIE). He then joined Pearson South Africa as Managing Director of CTI Education Group (a higher education company acquired by Pearson in 2013). In that time he also served as the Academic Director of Pearson Institute of Higher Education. He also had Summer Teaching roles at Yale University, Boston University, and Ohio State University. In 1998 he started at Wits as Lecturer and rose to Senior Lecturer in 1999 before his appointment as Head of the School of Literature Language and Media in 2001.

gaidi-faraj

Gaidi Faraj

Head of College

Dr. Gaidi Faraj brings a rich blend of experience in education and private sector business on the African continent. Dr. Faraj has over 10 years of senior level experience of managing large scale projects and navigating regulatory frameworks in Tanzania and broader East Africa. Dr. Faraj holds a PhD from the University of California at Berkeley and a Master’s degree in Teaching from Troy State University in Montgomery, Alabama. He is currently a research fellow at Harvard University and was a 2017 UMASS Amherst W.E.B. DuBois fellow.

Dr. Fay Hodza

Academic Director

Dr. Fay Hodza is a transformative higher education leader and educator who joins ALU with over twenty years of academic experience.

He is a human and community development expert with research interests in gender and sexuality, systemic community engagement, higher education, drug policy reform, human security, and sustainable development in Southern Africa. He also has interests in the political economy of the oil and gas industry in the SADC region. Fay believes that deeper regional socio-political and economic integration is inextricably linked to sustainable peace, stability and the overall development of the SADC region and the African continent at large.

Faculty

Leadership Core

Andrew Osongo

Email: aosongo@alueducation.com

Emmanuel Munyarukumbuzi

Email: emunyarukumbuzi@alueducation.com

Grace Pettey

Email: gpettey@alueducation.com

Hamza Prince Hadji

Email: hhadji@alueducation.com

Keza Akaliza

Email: kakaliza@alueducation.com

Thokozile Zimba

Email: tzimba@alueducation.com

Tofik Saad

Email: tsaad@alueducation.com

Alexandra Rogers

Email: arogers@alueducation.com

Audrine Iradukunda

Email: airadukunda@alueducation.com

Brian Bukombi

Email: bbukombi@alueducation.com

Derrick Odonkor

Email: dodonkor@alueducation.com

Olga Mogaka

Email: omogaka@alueducation.com

Shakila Umutoni

Email: sumutoni@alueducation.com

Aliane Mugwaneza

Email: amugwaneza@alueducation.com

Bitsiatemariam Demissie

Email: bdimissie@alueducation.com

David Kinzuzi

Email: dkinzuzi@alueducation.com

Emily Masaki

Email: emasaki@alueducation.com

Grace Mbuyi

Email: gmbuyi@alueducation.com

Rose Kanyange

Email: rkanyange@alueducation.com

Todd Sebastian Miller

Email: smiller@alueducation.com

Victoria Omomhenle

Email: vomomhenle@alueducation.com

Emmanuel Ekosse

Email: eekosse@alueducation.com

Kennedy Baboloki Kwati

Email: kkwati@alueducation.com

Millycent Naswa Samiah

Email: msamiah@alueducation.com

Pritchard Chimbari

Email: pchimbari@alueducation.com

Vincent Ishimwe

Email: vishimwe@alueducation.com

Computer Science

Benson Wachira

Email: bwachira@alueducation.com

Binusha Balachandran

Email: bbalachandran@alueducation.com

Bobson Rugambwa

Email: brugambwa@alueducation.com

Cherono Lucy Chepkwony

Email: cchepkwony@alueducation.com

Clovis Wazinguya

Email: cwanziguya@alueducation.com

Donart Ngarambe

Email: dngarambe@alueducation.com

Ella Ty Karambizi

Email: ekarambizi@alueducation.com

Robert Wekesa

Email: rwekesa@alueducation.com

Kudakwashe Dandajena

Email: kdandajena@alueducation.com

Kundan Kumar

Email: kkumar@alueducation.com

Ruti Patrick Dauphin

Email: rdauphin@alueducation.com

Tatenda Duncan

Email: tduncan@alueducation.com

Thadee Gatera

Email: tgatera@alueducation.com

Entrepreneuship

Stanley Mukasa

Email: smukasa@alueducation.com

Christella Muhoza

Email: cumuhoza@alueducation.com

Global Challeges

Chara Itoka

Email: citoka@alueducation.com

Chiedza Skyum

Email: cskyum@alueducation.com

David Adepoju

Email: oadepoju@alueducation.com

David Onderi

Email: donderi@alueducation.com

Grace Adoley Ansah

Email: gansah@alueducation.com

Kwame Norvixoxo

Email: knorvixoxo@alueducation.com

Laine Munir

Email: lmunir@alueducation.com

Patricia Mazuru

Email: pmazuru@alueducation.com

Providence Akayezu

Email: pakayezu@alueducation.com

Winnie Njeri Muchina

Email: wmuchina@alueducation.com

International Business and Trade

Nji Mbitaownu

Email: nmbitaownu@alueducation.com

Demilade Oluwasina

Email: doluwasina@alueducation.com

Edwick Murungu

Email: emurungu@alueducation.com

Fabrice Dusengumuremyi

Email: fdusengumuremyi@alueducation.com

Jackson Akor

Email: jakor@alueducation.com

Mike Ssempa

Email: mssempa@alueducation.com

Moses Onyango Ogutu

Email: mogutu@alueducation.com

Mwata Chisha

Email: mchisha@alueducation.com

Paul Ruhamya

Email: pruhamya@alueducation.com

Rudi Michiel Ackerman

Email: rackerman@alueducation.com

Sylvie Ndahimana

Email: sndahimana@alueducation.com

Tendayi Murahwa

Email: tmurahwa@alueducation.com

Theresa Lisita

Email: tlisita@alueducation.com

Thomas Bussen

Email: tbussen@alueducation.com

Sixbert Sangwa

Email: ssangwa@alueducation.com

Verena Lenzen

Email: vlenzen@alueducation.com

Academic Ops

Daniel Namanya

Email: dnamanya@alueducation.com

Eugene Nshimiyimana

Email: enshimiyimana@alueducation.com

Fatuma Ingabire

Email: fingabire@alueducation.com

Kennedy Baboloki Kwati

Email: kkwati@alueducation.com

Teta Myriam

Email: mteta@alueducation.com

Victor Kagimba

Email: vkagimba@alueducation.com

Fab Lab

Chandni Hirani

Email: chirani@alueducation.com